Checking off my bucket list for 2011.

My new studio

2011 is a new start to a new life if you are consistent. Change doesn’t happen just because you have a desire to change; it has to be followed up with action one foot in front of the other. As I look back on last year and what I have accomplished I know it didn’t happen without a lot of work and perseverance which has great rewards in the end.

I have made great strides in achieving some long awaited dreams. I finally have my own studio where I can now do my silversmith work and conduct workshops. I also finished several years of jewelry courses at Harrisburg Area Community College. I have also worked for a long time towards achieving state jury status from the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen, which is a life time award for a body of work by an artist in their field of art. I am very proud of this award and to be recognized for years of hard work.

I am looking forward to what this New Year has to offer me and the growth that it will bring. I hope you will join me in a prosperous new year and knocking some new things off your bucket list.
Happy New Year.

2 Comments

  1. Adrienne said,

    January 3, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Hi Roxan,
    I’m a fellow artist who loves making jewelry. I too am a member of the PA Guild of Craftsmen with the York Town Craft Guild. I came across your work through Wendy Edsall-Kerwin’s blog. I have been trying to come up with a studio solution myself. We have a shed that my husband built to house our lawn mower and all his tools. Well, his tools are still scattered throughout the garage and my work area is cramped and cluttered. I was thinking of taking over the shed and seeing your post brought that back to the forefront of my brain 🙂 Do you have electric running into your studio? That is one of the main reasons I haven’t pursued the shed. Any direction you can provide would be wonderful 🙂
    Thank you,
    Adrienne Cantler

    • January 3, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      Hi Adrienne,
      Yes, I do have electric in my studio. We had to run the electric out to the shed undergroud, but you could run a heavy duty electric cord from your house to have electric. My first question would be are you going to use a torch to create your jewerly? If so you will need a well ventilated area. If you have a small shed with no windows, you will have a problem.
      If you are on facebook, go to my page and look at the pictures of my studio. http://www.facebook.com/people/Roxan-OBrien/1556230036 .
      I bought a well made Amish shed for very little money and finished the inside ourselves. I couldn’t have made it for what I paid for it. Let you hubby have the shed he made and get your own shed, it will be the best money you have ever spent. I would be happy to help you with any questions you have. Hope you can get your own space to create.


Leave a Reply

